Knowledgebase: Billing & Payments
Upgrading or downgrading my package?
Posted on 28 February 2004 07:42 AM
Can I upgrade or downgrade my package at anytime? Will charges be pro-rated or do I have to do it at the beginning of my next billing cycle? How will I be charged if I upgrade or downgrade? Will anything within my account change if I upgrade or downgrade?
You may upgrade or downgrade at anytime; you do not have to do it on a certain date. However, you must maintain an upgraded or downgraded package for a minimum of one month.
An upgrade or downgrade request can be made through QuestAdmin:
(If you haven't created a QuestAdmin login, you will need to do that first. Just click the Create Login tab from the QuestAdmin link above.)
Further instructions on the ordering process can be found here:
How do I change my package to a different one?
There is no extra fee for upgrading, or downgrading, a package. The only difference is in the price between your old package and the new, which will be reflected in the new Activation Letter that is emailed when a package is changed.
For accounts on the monthly payment plan, FutureQuest will prorate out the existing package and apply any credits toward the new package. The new package will begin with a prorated month to ensure your monthly payment due dates do not change.
For accounts on the annual payment plan, FutureQuest will prorate out the existing package, at the annual rate providing the new package is also going to be annual, and apply any credits to the newly upgraded account. The new annual package will be charged at the annual rate for a full year from the date of upgrade.
When upgrading or downgrading FutureQuest adjusts the account allowances to match that of the new package. Usually this means no files are affected, however, if the package is downgraded to a package that does not allow for a feature within the existing package then that area will be removed. For example, if you were to downgrade from a package that included MySQL databases to a package that does not, then the MySQL databases would be removed.
If upgrading/downgrading from a Full Package to one of the smaller options such as an IRM or, vice versa, say an IRM to Full Package please view the following FAQ:
Service interruption when changing packages?