FutureQuest, Inc. FutureQuest, Inc. FutureQuest, Inc.
Knowledgebase: Email
Alias stack forward to more than 10 email addresses?
Posted on 15 January 2004 01:35 AM
Question:

In the CNC Email Manager, it appears that the maximum number of destination addresses we can specify for an alias stack is 10. Is it possible to have an alias forward to more than 10 e-mail addresses? If not, what do you suggest as a solution?

Answer:

It is not possible to add more than 10 destination email addresses to any one alias stack, but you do have other options.

One option would be to consider using a Discussion List via the ezmlm-idx software that is pre-installed and able to be set up from within your CNC.

Another option would be to "cascade" your alias stacks by creating multiple stacks. As an example:

Create a stack where Sales@yourdomain.tld forwards to
Judy@yourdomain.tld
John@yourdomain.tld
Lisa@yourdomain.tld
Joe@yourdomain.tld
Frank@yourdomain.tld
Sue@yourdomain.tld
Ted@yourdomain.tld
Allen@yourdomain.tld
Lucy@yourdomain.tld
and ==> Sales2@yourdomain.tld

From there, you may set up Sales2@yourdomain.tld as yet another alias stack that forwards to more addresses.

If the list is large, it is highly recommended that you consider the mailing list option instead. However, if you are only needing a couple more addresses in your stack the cascading option is an excellent choice.